Jalene’s Ideal 5 Day Trip to Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Park

June 30, 2015 at 4:07 pm Leave a comment

We asked our front desk to tell us where they would go in Yellowstone and Jackson Hole if they had 5 days to take a trip. Jalene has explains how she would spend her 5 days below:

Day One

For The first day of my vacation I would go to Mormon Row which is near Kelly just before you go into the Moulton Barnpark entrance for Grand Teton. There are two barns on Mormon Row that are extremely photogenic. Then I would then travel to Jenny Lake and take the ferry to the other side of the lake in order to take the trail to Inspiration Point and then to the Hidden Falls. In regards to where I would stay I would either travel a little farther and got to Colter Bay campground or I would come back to Jackson to spend the night.

Day 2

On the second day I would head up to Jackson Lake and Jackson Lakego to Jackson Lake Lodge. My grandfather loved the fishing at Jackson Lake and it would be great to see it. I would also suggest doing a guided tour of Yellowstone with Bushbuck Guide Services. They have a dawn or dusk tour that is interesting.

Day 3

For day threeYellowstone Falls I would strike out on my own to explore Yellowstone. I have gone to Yellowstone several time when I was younger so I would first stop at the Mud Volcano. I would then go to the upper and lower falls at the Yellowstone River, also known as the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone. At the Falls there is a lot to do so I would spend a good amount of time there. I would take Uncle Tom’s Trail which has 328 step each way so after doing that I would be done for the day. For accommodations I would go just outside the west entrance and camp at the campground for the night. This would afford me a great location to start day four.

Day 4Mammoth Hot Springs

For this day I would travel to Mammoth Hot Springs.    Then I would also go see the North Geyser Basin and then back out to the camping outside the west entrance for the last night of my vacation.

Day 5

I would travel from the west entrance to theOld Faithful Fountain Paint Pots and then Midway Geyser Basin. I would save the coolest place for last. I would go to Old Faithful and spend a good part of the day there. At this point I would get souvenirs for the trip. I would then travel out of the parks and head for home. This would be my ideal vacation.

Entry filed under: National Parks, Summer Activities. Tags: , , , , , , .

Country Western Swing Dance Lessons in Jackson Hole Whitewater Rafting in Jackson Hole

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Painted Buffalo Inn

Blogging on activities and happening in Jackson, Wyoming. We are more than just a hotel, use us as a resource!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 749 other followers

Follow Us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Find us on Facebook!

Newsletter Sign Up Form

Learn about special deals, updates and lodging packages.

Sign up to receive our newsletter!

Categories

Recent Posts


